Death Turns a Trick Kindle Ï Death Turns Kindle -

Death Turns a Trick Kindle Ï Death Turns Kindle -

Death Turns a Trick [Reading] ➶ Death Turns a Trick By Julie Smith – Centrumpowypadkowe.co.uk Rebecca Schwartz nice Jewish lawyer with a few too many fantasies is happily playing the piano in a whorehouse when she suddenly finds herself assigned to make sure a near naked state senator escapes Rebecca Schwartz nice Jewish lawyer with a few too many fantasies is happily playing the piano in a whorehouse when she suddenly finds herself assigned to make sure a near naked state senator escapes a police raid That dirty job done a lovely evening turns even delightful when she’s picked up by the cops and spends the next two hours at the Hall of Death Turns Kindle - Justice Could this day get any worse Of Course Guess who arrives home to find a dead hooker on her living room floorHandsome Parker Phillips Rebecca’s new beau and the most attractive man she’s met in ages is arrested for the murder Worse she suspects he might actually have done itOn the plus side another very attractive man is following the case reporter Rob Burns of the San Francisco Chronicle a possible ally And there are other possibilitiesFans of Janet Evanovich Joan Hess and Elizabeth Peters will get a kick out of this one.


10 thoughts on “Death Turns a Trick

  1. debbicat debbicat says:

    No great read hereby pretty entertaining on my afternoon walks I liked the narrator Not sure the book itself would have held my attention on just paper The book was free via a notification from bookbub I saw I could add the audio for 199 and sometimes I do that for my walks And esp when I want something kinda lite and simplenot too hard to follow This worked well for that I do recommend it It would probably be a fun beach read It was a good little cozy mystery And gave me a few laughs along the way as well


  2. Laura Chapman Laura Chapman says:

    A feminist lawyer must solve a murder whodunit in Julie Smith's Death Turns a Trick read an excerpt of the book hereRebecca Schwartz is a well bred lawyer in the San Francisco Bay area who tends to bore easily That boredom leads her to a whorehouse where she is playing the piano for a party when she finds herself in the middle of a police raid Grabbing the almost naked senator strapped to a bed behind closed doors she ends up in jail after a fender bender in a borrowed car Finally freed from her two hour stay in the slammer Rebecca goes home looking for some RR only to find a dead prostitute in her apartment Still reeling from the shock of that Rebecca is thrown another surprise when her new boyfriend is arrested for the murder While she wars with whether or not he might have done it she continues to look into the case which also throws her in the path of a studly reporterThis fast paced first book in the Rebecca Schwartz series flew by The story has excitement from page one and even with a heavy dose of background in the first chapters it's woven in the story's present well enough it did not seem too heavy At little than 100 pages it was easy and fast to dive into this story much the way one would get into an episode of Law and Order SVU Actually the plot itself could have been an episode of that show but this book was written before that show so it winsHowever just like an episode of SVU I knew who the murderer and the red herring would be in this story before the victim even dropped dead in Rebecca's apartment I'm not saying that made this book predictable there were twists and turns I did not see coming and in all fairness my siblings and I have watched enough crime shows and read enough mysteries that it usually doesn't take us than a few minutes to have it solvedEven though I was about 99 percent certain who did and who did not do it early on the journey in this story was definitely worth the read Rebecca is a fun and uniue protagonist and her little uirks set her apart from other narrators of mystery novels In addition the friendship she forges with an almost madam was something unexpected even given the name of the bookThis story was also well written enough that I found myself not noticing or being bothered by the lack of technology and cell phones because this book was written in 1992 and recently re released That's good story tellingI enjoyed Rebecca's story and this exciting read offers a good foundation of a series of stories to comeRating 4 of 5I was given a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review Originally published at wwwchange the wordblogspotcom


  3. Stacy Spoonster Stacy Spoonster says:

    Death turns a trickI picked up this book looking for a funny light readinstead I got a headache I do not normally review books that I don't finish but I decided to make an exception here The characters instead of being fun were just annoying If I had to hear one time about the main character being a middle class feminist Jewish attorney I was going to scream and possibly throw the book which would have been bad since I love my kindle At one point it seemed as though she mentioned these facts every other sentence SeriouslyI understood it the first time you don't have to continually mention it The story was also very slow and I got to the point where I simply could not bring myself to care what happened to these characters I would not recommend this book to anyone


  4. Misterg Misterg says:

    The story is fine There is enough to keep you reading with out too much trouble However the use of language is strange to say the least I had to keep using the Kindle's look up feature to find out what the words meant such as Myrmidon basically a minion Now I don't mind learning new words; I have even read the first two Gormenghast books What got me was the use of multi syllable words alongside phrases such as split up to the wazoo Some consistency would have been niceSo I'm deducting a star for the fact that the flow was interrupted by reuired use of the dictionary


  5. Leslie aka StoreyBook Reviews Leslie aka StoreyBook Reviews says:

    I have had this book sitting on my shelf since 2007 and finally picked it up Not sure why I waited so long Good book with characters that have some depth to them I never would have guessed the killer although it makes a lot of sense how the book was wrapped up I've got a few of this series on my shelf will need to pick those up soon


  6. ☆Dani☆ ☆Touch My Spine Book Reviews☆ ☆Dani☆ ☆Touch My Spine Book Reviews☆ says:

    A good readI loved the approach to this novel and it made me laugh😀 A great open minded start to a series that I love😊


  7. Randee Baty Randee Baty says:

    Death Turns a Trick is an entertaining introduction to Rebecca Schwartz a Jewish feminist lawyer in San Francisco In her first outing she gets herself involved with a bordello owner as a client and is at her client's place of business playing the piano when the police raid the place Mayhem ensues and a fun and clever mystery result Good characters good writing and overall fun story The one drawback for me was a lot of mentions of casual illegal drug use and that bothers me personally It threw me out of the story every time It won't stop my from reading the rest of the series but it did lessen my enjoyment of the book to a small degree


  8. Anne Anne says:

    I was looking for something a bit lighter to read and turned to Julie Smith's new to me series after having read the reviews here I was a huge fan of her New Orleans bases series But they did tend to get a bit heavy for my current moodOverall I enjoyed it There were a few parts I found a bit goofy like her interview with the police which had her trying to solve their case for them with very little information or the relationship between her and the 'new' boyfriend But I am looking forward to reading the next book and seeing how things develop with the characters


  9. Bill Bill says:

    A light entertaining well paced mystery the first Rebecca Schwartz mystery A nice spunky character a lawyer in San Francisco who gets involved in a murder in her apartment and works to keep her boyfriend from being charged found guilty of the crime It's not a deep crime mystery just good fun I like Rebecca and her sister Mickey and the other characters that were introduced Entertaining and comforting 35 stars I'll read of this series


  10. Tasha Tasha says:

    I liked this book It was uick read and uite funny The main character Rebecca is a complete nut and so is her family members She is a Jewish lawyer that gets in a little too deep with a guy she doesn't know And ends up being his lawyer when the cops think he killed his sister She overthinks things and ends up in trouble Completely funny Like I said LOVED IT


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *