We Were Witches

Spurred on by nineties family values campaigns and determined to better herself through education, a teen mom talks her way into college Disgusted by an overabundance of phallocratic narratives and Freytag s pyramid, she turns to a subcultural canon of resistance and failure Wryly riffing on fem

Leading Men

An expansive yet intimate story of desire, artistic ambition, and fidelity, set in the glamorous literary and film circles of 1950s Italy n nIn July of 1953, at a glittering party thrown by Truman Capote in Portofino, Italy, Tennessee Williams and his longtime lover Frank Merlo meet Anja Blomgren, a m

My Ex-Life

The time for Stephen McCauley s breakout novel has come and My Ex Life is it in a major way A delicious novel for fans of Tom Perrotta, Maria Semple, and Cynthia D Aprix Sweeney about how sometimes the only way to move forward is to go back n nDavid Hedges s life is coming apart at the seams His jo

Hide

ABA Indies Introduce PickIndie Next List Selection Best of the Month BookWendell and Frank meet at the end of World War II, when Frank returns home to their North Carolina town Soon he s loitering around Wendell s taxidermy shop, and the two come to understand their connection as love a love

Speak My Language, and Other Stories: An Anthology of Gay Fiction

There is something special about literature that addresses our innermost sexual and amatory selves Gay stories offer us vindication, fellowship, validation and a sense of shared identity that we need now as much as ever, writes Stephen Fry in the foreword to this anthology.In this exciting

JD

Jonathan Ascher, an acclaimed 1960s radical writer and cultural hero, has been dead for thirty years When a would be biographer approaches Ascher s widow Martha, she delves for the first time into her husband s papers and all the secrets that come tumbling out of them She finds journal